Off Beat by Black Milk Clothing

Are you a 90s child? Do you yearn for the simpler times of chalk boards, pokemon cards, and spice girl-esque hair buns? Where your only responsibility came in the form of a Tamagotchi? If, like me, you are part of the nostalgia generation; then Black Milk Clothing’s latest release will be right up your street!

I was really hoping (as was my bank account) that this release wouldn’t particularly catch my eye, but as the sneaks were peaked, I knew I was doomed. The 90s themed collection tells the tale of three girls who play hooky one day, and get up to all sorts of fun before they attempt to sneak back into school unnoticed. If your intrigued, check out the look book for the full story 🙂

  
The collection showcases some awesome new prints, a couple of new cuts, the return of the much loved wild cherries print and burned velvet elm fabric, along with some amazing new designer pieces! Not only that but UNICORNS! There are unicorns!

There wasn’t a prerelease HQ event for this collection, which meant I didn’t get a chance to try out as much as usual. However, there was a little meet up after the Gold Coast Supanova; where Matt arrived in true Del Boy fashion, with a suitcase full of shoot samples for us to check out. It was here I saw the glory that is galaxy supanova, for the first time! The print is even more vibrant and amazing in the flesh, its no wonder the inside out dress sold out! Galaxy and tartan = classic Black Milk!

My favourite printed piece of the collection has to be the buggin’ out wifey top. As an animal nerd, I love that this print was born from the fact that scientists tested the sight of preying mantis by giving them tiny 3D glasses. Although I don’t have the source to this, I have read papers where scientists have done equally crazy things, so I believe it to be true haha! Either way, what’s more 90’s than the red and blue lens glasses!

DSCF4840

Buggin’ Out Wifey Top

I once was a wifey top sceptic, but I am fully converted now. They are an awesome cut, so comfy, and super easy to style. Even if you don’t want to wear them as a crop, there are still ways to wear them. So I was super happy to have the buggin’ out print on the wifey, I hope to see it on more in the future!

The other printed piece I love is the hyper fox! The print was available in both shorties and the new boxy crop. I opted for the crop because A) new cut, I was curious and B) I don’t have many tops! I left them all back in the UK. The psychedelic print is just amazing, it is tie dye with pastel tones featuring adorable little foxes! I love the boxy crop cut too. I stuck to my usual size, so I could get the more oversized look and I’m very happy with it.

  

Hyper fox boxy crop

  
There are so many awesome prints in this collection! The All Star nana suit was another piece I love. The bright patterned stars could not be any more 90’s! They reminds me of typical 90’s tv shows like saved by the bell, fresh prince of bel air and so on. The all star pieces are limited, so if you have your eye on them, go forth and buy!

All-Star-Nana-Suit-Bottoms2_1024x1024

Photo from blackmilkclothing.com

The In Your Dreams print was another favourite of mine. Pastel ombre and unicorns, what’s not to love?! Sadly its too hot, and I’m too British for toastie leggings here in Queensland, but the print also comes in an adorable capped sleeve skater dress! I could go on forever about all the awesome prints in this collection, but I haven’t even gotten to the designer pieces yet!

In-your-dreams-cap-sleeve-skate-dress1_1024x1024

Photo from blackmilkclothing.com

I took a big risk this release, and opted for one of the pvc skater skirts! The pastels totally won me over, and I thought I’d give it a go. I decided to go for the mint skirt because it was the colour that I could match best to the wifey tops I already own, but it was also available in mauve and blush. I love the colour, but the pvc will take some getting used to! It looks super cute on photos, but the waistband doesn’t have any additional structure so moves around a lot (perhaps a different size would have worked better, but I’m new to this material!). I love the look of the skirt and the colour is amazing, I just have to overcome my pvc fears!

Buggin’ out wifey top and mint pastel pvc skirt

My ultimate favourite designer piece is the Soldier Jane GF Bomber. This is a new designer material and oh my, is it amazing. Its almost like wet look material with a very subtle camo pattern. It is so soft, stretchy and shiny, I cannot begin to tell you! The pattern is nice and subtle, but when the sun hits it right, BAM! Shiny shiny! I have wore this jacket so much in the few days I have owned it, because it’s Just.That.Good. My only regret is not being able to own all of the soldier Jane pieces!

DSCF4848

Soldier Jane GF Bomber

I could go on and on about this collection but I think I’ve done enough excited rambling for one day! If you want to relive the 90’s and look damn good doing it, then check out Off Beat. Or if you have already nommed your way through the collection, let me know what you loved!

Bye for now

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Off Beat by Black Milk Clothing

Leave a Reply

