The Daily Grind

So I know I haven’t posted in a while, I’ve been super busy at work! Ryan and myself are both working at the hostel now (he works nights and I do the day shifts), so we don’t see much of each other. When we do, its usually catching up on sleep or having a well deserved pint; making the most of our staff cards obviously. I get two days off a week, one of which being a Thursday where I spend the day volunteering at the RSPCA, which is basically my weekly therapy. I need that animal time to keep me sane! So that leaves one day a week, which may or may not be a day Ryan’s not working.

Enjoying my day off 😏🍺 #cider #drinks #guiltyrouge #brisbane #australia

A post shared by Amy Davies (@amydavies1) on

The days we have managed to get off together, we are usually both so tired out for the busy week that we spend a few hours discussing and googling where to go, before coming to the conclusion that we should just jump on the bus to the city and have a bevvy.

 

Ryan and I at southbank.

 
We are pretty lucky because Brisbane is honestly beautiful. Its super easy for us to get into the city, and there is always something going on. We have found our new favourite place to eat, The Guilty Rouge. The bar is attached to a sister hostel to the one where we work, meaning we get staff discount in the bar. As amazing for us as that is, its still pretty cheap for such good quality food. I’ve found love in the form of a glorious chicken burger called the Bonnie and Clyde burger. It comes with lemon and herb chicken, topped with bacon, Asian slaw, crispy noodles and wasabi mayo. It honestly has to be the tastiest burger I’ve ever had. Every time we go back, I have all the best intentions to try something new….never happens.

So after food in Guilty, we usually head down to Southbank. There is always a good vibe down there. There’s the lagoon where you can cool off, lots of nice beer gardens, and on the weekend there’s a cute little market down Little Stanley Street. The walk along the river is a nice way to walk off our dinner, and if you time it just right, you get to see the gorgeous sunset over the CBD.

 

Rooftop view at the hostel BBQ

 
Although, some weeks we don’t end up with a day off together so try to make the most of our weekend evenings. Ryan has weekends off and I usually finish at 4. The hostel has a roof top BBQ on a Sunday evening which we usually end up at πŸ™‚ Its a nice way to chill out with everyone from work too, and we don’t have far to go!

 

A few of us in the bar making the most of the work perks πŸ˜‰

 
As difficult as it is making time for each other, I’m so happy to be working at the hostel. I feel like I actually have a social life now (YIPPEEE) and the people are great too. Its tiring, the hours are sometimes unsociable, and sometimes the ‘interesting’ situations that arise can drain you, but honestly the people make up for it (and the money, obviously). If only I had been given this job when I first got here! For now I’ll have to make the most of the last month I have, before we head off to do some actual travelling!! That’s when the real fun begins πŸ˜‰

Bye for now
xoxo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

