Worlds Away Collection

I know I’m a little late to the party on this one but I’ve been super busy smashing the hours in at work (only 4 weeks left woohoo!). 

I was stoked about this black milk clothing collection as soon as JL told us his inspiration for it, just after Gold Coast Supanova. He told us a story about a little girl who’s dad was a traveller, and she dreamed about all the magical places he would visit. Tropical dreams from a girls imagination? SOLD! 

If that didn’t do it, the sneak peaks of the collection shoot did for sure! The shoot took place at a gorgeous looking resort, which I thought was in Bali until Matt corrected me and found its actually a gem in NSW. Either way, they managed to create an awesome tropical shoot for an amazing lookbook. 

 

Photo from blackmilkclothing.com

 
From there we saw yet again new cuts and styles; a playsuit, new flouncy shorts, and the Rio top! Not only that but the return of some favourite cuts, such as the marylin dress, with some well loved prints!

The new cuts looked pretty awesome but the thing that did it for me this release was the amount of animal prints. As a self confessed animal nut and part time shopaholic, I was very impressed. Tigers, Jaguars, flamingos, elephants and if that wasn’t enough, there was the return of the merman fabric! 

For me the thing I was excited about, instantly, was the return of the woodchucks! With flamingos!! I’m still somewhat sad about missing the cool cat woodchucks from the Vegas release so I knew I needed these bad boys in my life. Once customer service mega babe Eden modelled the wifey top and woodchucks together, I was fully enabled. 

 

Wearing Flamingo flock woodchucks and wifey top.

 
The flamingo flock print came on two dresses (reverisble, and scoop skater), as well as the wifey top and woodchucks; so something for everyone right? šŸ˜‰ When my pieces arrived, I was a little surprised to find the colour a little more grey than blue. I didn’t mind though because it still went well with the pink flamingos. The woodchucks are amazing, a little shorter than I had hoped, but super comfy (thanks to the toastie material) and the adjustable straps make them so much better! 

Now I’m not a crop top kind of girl. I love the wifey tops because they are a little more forgiving than regular crops. However, the elephant walk print was just too much for me. I fell in love with the print. I love the sketch style, and I think the image kind of embodies the whole “worlds away” idea. The crop (in my regular size) is a little snug in the ladies but it’s reversible, so I can switch it round for a little more coverage. 

šŸ˜ šŸ˜šŸ˜#bmelephantwalkreversiblecrop #blackmilkclothing @blackmilkclothing

A post shared by Amy Davies (@amydavies1) on

After finding an old birthday voucher with some life left in it, I treated myself to one last piece from the collection; the merman pocket midi skirt. I have the dusk midi skirt from the wonderlust collection and I love it. Admittedly it took me a while to get used to the length but I do love it. The merman material is a lot thicker and stiffer than the chiffon of the dust midi so it feels very different. It sits different on my hips too. I’m still undecided as to whether this piece suits me but the merman material is gorgeous. It’s sparkly and subtle all at the same time! One minute your all “sophisticated black midi skirt” then the sun shines and KAPOW! Mermaid sparkle activate!

  
I really liked the water tiger print in this collection! I love the tones and the images, I was very tempted to get the leggings (but my bank account said no -.-). I’ve seen some girls rocking the Rio top too! It looks awesome. I wish they had made a BF bomber in this print because it really reminded me of the tropical storm print, and I wear the heck out of that bomber! 

 

Water Tiger Rio Top (image from blackmilkclothing.com)

 
There were a lot of pieces I liked the look of but was too scared to try, such as the boss shirts! The Haeckel’s Mosses boss shirt is gorgeous, but all I could think about was the potential for a boob shelf. It’s probably a good thing that the HQ prerelease events have come to an end, *sob* that way I can’t try on all of the things *sob*, and realise I love them and spend all the money. 

 

Haeckel’s Mosses boss shirt (image from blackmilkclothing.com)

 
If I had gotten my hands on that gorgeous new burned velvet magenta, or the almond blossom maxi, I probably would of taken them home and would have been forced to eat $1 noodles for the next month. 

 

Burned Velvet Magenta leggings (image from blackmilkclothing.com)

 
As expected, this collection could have easily broke my bank (but I’m forced to have willpower these days). I loved the whole story behind it, much like the wonderlust collection, I kind of felt the excitement of it all because I’m currently doing the whole travelling thing. I know some people will be like “that’s stupid, they are just clothes”, but it’s not. It’s like art, I can appreciate the thought process and work that has gone on to create this collection. Before this gets too deep… the guys at BM get another thumbs up from me šŸ˜‰ 

Bye for now 

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

